What about them Dice Towers people keep asking for?

Posted: August 9, 2015 in Infinity, Terrain
Tags: , ,

Let’s have another update shall we?

So, after wanting to throw my bottle of Vallejo Liquid Mask into a pit of hellfire, I have now finished the Zen Terrain Shipping Company Building / Dice Tower. This has 2 levels of walkways surrounded by cover that would be great for snipers in infinity, or a HMG in the middle of the board with suppressive fire. It also has a helipad with limited cover at the highest point.

But most importantly – the middle of the building is a working dice tower. Throw the dice in there, and they are stopped from flying everywhere by the fenced in section at the bottom. Everyone I know uses building rooftops to roll their dice, now we have a building that has a proper dice tower built in. Bravo Zen Terrain – what an amazing way to add one to the table.

Shipping Container Dice Tower 1 Shipping Container Dice Tower 2 Shipping Container Dice Tower 3 Shipping Container Dice Tower 4

To clarify why I now want my liquid mask to burn in hellfire – I used lots of it to mask prepainted sections of this model, basically all of the signwriting on the building and the helipad on the roof. IT DIDN’T BLOODY WORK!!!!!! AAAAAGHHHH!!!! This building has been on my desk for weeks as I couldn’t bring myself to sort out the lettering. In the end I cheaped out and turned it all into orange OSL to make it a whole lot quicker. I know some people aren’t a fan, but for my sanity’s sake I had to get the model finished.

These were intended to be photos to show how to use liquid mask, but since it didn’t work they don’t have much of a use. I did however think it could be some use now to show the sub assemblies put together before painting

DSC_0053

Pre spray in white, prior to adding the orange.

DSC_0060DSC_0059DSC_0058DSC_0057DSC_0056DSC_0055DSC_0054

And now for some orange colour to give it the base/glow

DSC_0063DSC_0062 DSC_0061

And adding yellow to shade

DSC_0066 DSC_0065 DSC_0064

And the dreaded liquid mask. If anyone knows a mask that works on MDF or an idea of where I went wrong, let me know.

DSC_0069 DSC_0068 DSC_0067

I highly recommend that anyone working on this model breaks it into subsections to paint, otherwise you will really struggle to airbrush individual parts without overspraying every other part of the model. It kind of goes without saying, especially on large complex buildings like this one, but it really is key. I think this was broken into 30-40 parts to paint before being put together at the end.

Graffiti is from 00 gauge railway transfers, they are a perfect scale fit for something like this. I was actually looking for the larger 0 gauge transfers, but to be honest I think either will work depending on what you are going to be graffiting.

It took absolutely hours to mask for the turquoise sections. This was done to try and break up the grey concrete like sections and I thought it would play well against the orange of the signs/helipad/elevator.

Speaking of the elevator:

Shipping Container Dice Tower 5 Shipping Container Dice Tower 6

At the back there is a movable elevator that can be at the ground floor or the top floor by pushing the tab at the bottom of the elevator in. If you look at the photo on the left, you can see it pushes 2 tags into a notch that holds it in place. The acrylic section is also removable so you can get miniatures in and out without having to be too creative.

For my games of infinity I intend to make it a short action to call the elevator if it is in the wrong location, and a short move to make it go to the top. I’m pretty sure in N3 there are rules for elevators, but they don’t (correct me if I’m wrong) cover making the elevator travel to where you are if it’s not on your floor – probably because no one has made a movable elevator before now so it has been a bit pointless.

If I’m honest, I wouldn’t be in a rush to make another one of these – not because I don’t like the building, but because it was an exhausting build/paint. I absolutely love this building, and it never fails to get a wow reaction from anyone that sees it. It’s just that a project like this is a real time sink, and it takes some serious determination to get to the end of the build.

It might just be that I’m still a bit sore about the liquid mask, I’ll let you be the judge of that.

Either way it is another fantastic kit from Zen Terrain and a very easy one to recommend – just make sure your table is clear for a couple of weeks to get it done.

It is available to order from here

http://www.zenterrain.com/

See you next week!

Rich

Leave a Reply

